IPL 2019 Schedule announced

20th Feb, 2019


The Vivo IPL 2019 Schedule will get underway on March 23 with a high profile match between defending champion Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Chennai’s MA Chidambaram stadium will host the season’s blockbuster clash. The match also marks the return of IPL matches to Chennai. Last season the defending champions Chennai Super Kings was forced to play six home matches in Pune following Cauvery protests during the team’s first match at the Chepauk stadium.


The IPL’s governing body released the first lot of fixtures for IPL which will figure 17 matches held during the first two weeks between March 23 and April 5. The 17 matches will be held across eight venues with six of the teams playing four matches each. However, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals will feature in five matches. The schedule has been drawn in such a way that all teams with the exception of Delhi Capitals would play at least two home matches. Delhi is scheduled to play three home matches during this period. Like in the previous seasons,  the IPL has scheduled the doubleheaders for the weekends with the first set of matches involving Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad; Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals taking place on Sunday, March 24.


The official IPL website said the fixtures are still subject to the announcement of the Lok Sabha 2019 election dates.  Once these have been released BCCI will address any issues with the first two weeks and will also prepare a schedule for the remainder of the season working with the local authorities around the polling dates.


Related Posts
Uncapped Players of IPL 2019

Top Uncapped Players of IPL 2019 to watch out for | Game Changers

Leave a Reply

Notify of